Downsizing Candy Bars, But Will We Eat Less?

Mars candy bars will soon stop selling chocolate bars in portions larger than 250 calories, but will this stop the amount the public is consuming?

On Tuesday, February 14th, Mars Inc. made a promise to “fix” it’s chocolate products so no portion is more than 250 calories by the end of the year 2013. In other words, this means that chocolate bars will get smaller and some bars will be divided into 2 servings in one package to make it more known to the public that there is more than one serving of chocolate in one package. Studies have shown that eating from smaller packages increases awareness of portion size.

In my opinion, I believe that this a very good idea. I believe that we need to be more aware of the portion sizes we are eating. Chocolate is okay to eat in moderation, as long as we can limit our portion sizes. I think this will open people’s eyes up to what they are consuming while on the other hand, I’m sure people will still eat more than their supposed to be eating without looking at the nutrition facts or even the package.

What are your thoughts? Ideas? Comments? Will this make you consume less chocolate? Or will it make you buy double to equal what your used to eating?

7 thoughts on “Downsizing Candy Bars, But Will We Eat Less?

    • Thanks for your input! Like I said, I believe that this can either open people’s eyes, or make people see how much they are consuming compared to what they’re normally eating in a serving and reach for another candy bar. Hopefully this will be somewhat effective and a step in the right direction to help fight obesity problems and unhealthy eating habits!

  1. I think this is a start in the right direction. People eat what is available. If a full bag of fun size is available, they would probably eat a lot of those just like they will eat the full 380 calories of the regular size (I’m just making the number up – I don’t actually know the calorie count of the regular size). If the full size is less than 250 calories, they’d probably be just as satisfied with less chocolate and calories. I am glad to see Mars take this step in helping us control portions.

    • Anna, Thank you for your input! I appreciate it! I agree with you on the fact that people are more likely to eat what’s available to them– dietitians and nutritionists agree that grabbing a smaller plate or dish is helpful with controlling portion sizes and Mars is definitely taking this into consideration in helping those control their serving sizes by shrinking candy bars or making what’s now one serving into two. Even if this change makes a difference to a few people, it’s still effective in my eyes!

  2. I think it’s good. Many people will eat whatever amount is in the package. Some people will eat one package and others will eat multiple. But at least those who eat only one package will eat slightly fewer calories and a little less sugar and fat.

    • Marilyn, Thanks for the comment! I agree with you that everyone will have their own decisions and outlooks on topics like this. But I believe that it will be good for others to learn portion sizes and start to realize that what they’re putting into their bodies matter.

  3. It’s a responsible move by Mars that should be applauded. Will I eat less? I will if I’m only buying one of these right-sized, I suppose. I’m guessing prices aren’t going down? I’d be surprised if they were. As for the “fun size” bars mentioned above? If I have access to a bag of THOSE? – look out! I definitely eat more of those than I should — rationalizing that they are SMALL (even after having FIVE). 😉

Leave a Reply

